Posted by: smlacava | September 5, 2009

Welcome to a New School Year

Hello All!

I have been a horrible blogger, but I’ve realized I loved keeping this blog while in Japan! Also, I’m about to start the application process for the JET Program and Law School, and if I get into the JET program to teach English in Japan I KNOW family and friends will want me to keep a blog again. So, why not just keep this one running with not so often updates, but at least keep you informed.

I checked out the JET Program website today which took me to the U.S.’s official JET program website, where I found out I can’t start applying until October when they will put the application up. I also ran into my former Japanese teacher who once again told me to come to her when I start the application process. I’m so excited to start applying for this program and I cannot express in words how I hope to get in. BUT, at the same time I need to keep up with my classes (I’m assisting my Japanese teacher in teaching Japanese), I’m taking 21 credits (including this teaching assistance) and work about 10 hours a week. I’m also taking some pretty tough classes, like International Economics and Business Law, but I love these challenging courses. As my Dad keeps reminding me, I just need to stay on top of everything and make sure I go to EVERY class and turn in EVERY assignment. Which has always been something I overlook, as crazy as it sounds. But on top of applying for the Jet program and taking all these classes, I need to prepare for the LSAT and start the application process for Law school. I took a diagnostic LSAT last Saturday and scored a 153, which is only one point above average and not the best score. But, I figure this is my score starting out without any studying. What will my score be once I understand why I got questions wrong and understand how to answer them correctly? I’m going to shoot for a 180 (which is a perfect score) because why shouldn’t I?

I’m also living in an amazing apartment with great roommates who are all just as busy. Our schedules don’t exactly coincide, but I love having them around to chat with or rant my frustrations to… don’t worry though, they do the same to me so we’re equal 🙂 We each have our own room which is nice. It’s nice to come home and enter my almost ALWAYS clean room (I expect to hear a snort coming from my parent’s direction). Also, I did buy a bike! I absolutely love it. I’ll post pictures sometime soon… or I may just e-mail them out to you all (Family!).

Anywho, I’m going to try and keep up with this blog a little. I figure I should, since the Study Abroad Office hired me to keep up with their Facebook and Twitter page for two reasons 1) whenever I came into their office to talk about applying to Kansai Gaidai I was fully prepared (which I need to thank my dad for) and 2) they loved my blog! So thanks everyone for the comments and the continuous harassment to update more! 😉

Miss you all!

Steph

Responses

  1. As you begin thinking about law school, i invite you to check out our site. I think you might find it helpful.

  2. Glad to see that you are back doing this blog I enjoy reading all about what are doing and what you are about to do. I am very proud of you and I know you will stay focused and do your best you have a heavy schedule and a lot you want to get done so I am praying for you that you will achive all your dreams you sure work hard enough for it, Keep up the hard work


Leave a Reply

Categories

